Is Parmesan Cheese Gluten Free?

What Brand Of Parmesan Cheese Is Gluten-Free?

Parmesan cheese is the kind of cheese you can’t do away with because of its gritty texture and fruity taste. Knowing the ingredients in making it is just as important, especially if you have health concerns or are lactose or gluten intolerant. Knowing the ingredients helps you control how much cheese you consume. So is parmesan cheese gluten free?

Parmesan cheese is gluten-free because it is made from milk and does not contain wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients. However, during production, some parmesan cheese brands may include gluten-containing ingredients. So always check the label for the list of ingredients before buying.

You could react to even small amounts of gluten in cheese if you suffer from severe gluten intolerance. That is why it is important to consult with a doctor or dietitian. If you do wonder whether Parmesan cheese is gluten-free, this article will provide you with answers. 

Is Cheese Gluten Free?

Most cheeses are naturally gluten-free. However, there are a couple of exceptions. Cheeses that contain mold, such as blue cheese, can sometimes have fractions of gluten due to the use of bread mold in processing. Another exception would be packaged shredded cheese. 

Shredded cheese is typically coated with some starch during packaging to prevent the cheese shreds from sticking together. Most of the time, rice flour is used, which is gluten-free, but occasionally wheat starch, which does contain gluten, may be used.

In either of those cases, it should say on the label if any traces of wheat or other gluten-containing grains are used in processing. To ensure safety, making cheese at home, knowing your local producer’s process, or choosing products with gluten-free certification are the best options. 

What Brand Of Parmesan Cheese Is Gluten Free?

Kraft grated Parmesan cheese, Organic Valley grated Parmesan cheese, and Sartori Classic shredded Parmesan cheese are brands of parmesan cheese that are gluten-free.BelGioioso and Galbani are two other brands of parmesan cheese that are gluten-free.Β 

BelGioioso offers a variety of parmesan cheese products, including grated parmesan, shredded parmesan, and parmesan cheese slices. Galbani also offers a variety of parmesan cheese products, including grated parmesan, shredded parmesan, and parmesan cheese slices. Kraft and Sargento are two of the most popular brands of Parmesan cheese that are also gluten-free.

If you cannot find Kraft or Sargento Parmesan cheese, you can look for any brand that is labeled as gluten-free or all-natural. However, if you have highly sensitive dietary restrictions, it is recommended to directly contact the manufacturer to verify the ingredients. This can provide an extra layer of assurance and help you avoid potential issues.

What Cheeses Are Gluten-Free?

  • Cheddar cheese
  • Swiss cheese
  • Feta cheese
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Gouda cheese
  • Brie cheese
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Blue cheese

The cheeses listed above are all gluten-free. However, When it comes to processed cheese products, such as shredded cheese and cheese sauces, make sure you read the labels and check for any gluten-containing ingredients or the possibility of cross-contamination in a facility that also processes products that contain gluten.

Although this type of contamination typically results in tiny amounts of gluten, it can still be problematic for you if you have celiac disease and are highly sensitive to gluten. Therefore, it’s always a good idea to be mindful of this possibility and to take precautions to avoid any potential exposure to gluten.

Is Kraft Grated Parmesan Cheese Gluten-Free?β€Œ

Kraft states that its products do not contain any hidden gluten-containing ingredients, and any ingredient containing gluten will be clearly labeled on the packaging. For example, if the product contains modified food starch from a gluten-containing source, the packaging will specify the source, such as “modified food starch (corn).” 

Kraft Parmesan Cheese has a sharp and tangy flavor that can enhance the taste of your pizzas, seafood, pasta, salads, and signature chicken dishes. It adds a salty and nutty taste to your favorite recipes, making it a versatile ingredient for any occasion.

The ingredients in Kraft Parmesan Cheese include pasteurized part-skim milk, enzymes, cheese culture, salt, cellulose powder, and potassium sorbate. Since no gluten-containing ingredients are listed, Kraft Parmesan Cheese is considered gluten-free and generally safe, especially if you are gluten intolerant. 

Conclusion

Parmesan cheese is naturally gluten-free, but there is still a risk of cross-contamination if it is processed in a facility that handles gluten-containing products. Other brands of gluten-free Parmesan cheese are available for you, such as Belgioioso and Sartori Sarvecchio. Ensure you carefully review the label to ensure the product is safe to consume.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top